Guests Reviews Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B 2019 - Dog Friendly Wales | Dog Friendly Hotel

Dog Friendly Wales
Go to content

Guests Reviews Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B 2019

Guest Reviews
________________

Dog Owners' Reviews - 2019
Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B
_________________
Trip Advisor Reviews on Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B stays - 2019


4 stars Oct 2019:
Anniversary weekend
My wife and I spent 2 nights at this lovely location and will certainly visit again in the future. Staff were very friendly and we were made to feel at home during our stay. We went for a stroll in the beautiful castle grounds along with an earlier guided tour around the castle as part of the Adelina Patti open day. The castle theatre is truly a wonderful feature of the castle. Look forward to our next visit.


5 stars Oct 2019:
Wonderful hotel in a gorgeous setting
I visited the castle for a dog event and found it to be amazing! The castle itself is stunning upon arrival. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. Loved the many places to sit outside and the courtyard. The many different rooms offered lots of space to enjoy a drink, sit with friends or take in the scenery. The staff was exceptional! They were helpful, gracious and happy, making our stay that much more enjoyable. The castle is a little dated, but the staff and functionality of the space more than made up for the wear. We look forward to returning to the castle!


4 stars Oct 2019:
Beautiful setting, average accommodation
We stayed for one night when there was no wedding taking place, so we had the hotel almost entirely to ourselves. The exterior certainly is very castle-like. The rooms are pretty average hotel rooms (hair dryer could use a bit more oomph). The setting is beautiful - we went for a walk/hike throughout the grounds, across streams, etc. It was really lovely. If you have kids, there is a set of caves nearby with dinosaurs and a little train that I imagine would be really fun. Breakfast was pretty standard. We opted not to eat dinner at the castle because we would be having breakfast the next morning, but beware if you intend to eat dinner in the area that reservations are definitely required. We were turned away by 4 restaurants before one would seat us.

Response from MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle Responded 20 Oct 2019 Thats great to read - the Castle can be quite empty at times in the Autumn once people are back to work and children are back to school - and we offer some great 2 night deals. Glad you found the area good to explore, its a shame you didnt eat at the Castle as most places do tend to get booked up in advance. Perhaps you might like to re-visit and take advantage of some of our longer stay deals.


5 stars Oct 2019:
A Beautiful Building
This hotel was wonderful. Just what we were looking for and, we would’ve liked to have stayed longer, however, there appears to be a lot of paranormal investigations that take place in the castle so, unfortunately, it was fully booked. Very dog friendly, lovely food, amazing bathroom.


5 stars Sept 2019:
Stunning location and fabulous with dogs
The 2019 stinkeye ( Welsh terriers on holiday )were made very welcome . It’s a beautiful castle set within a stunning location. The staff where fab the dogs even had sausages at breakfast. Lots of lovely places to sit and enjoy some lovely Welsh sunshine. If you have a group and want a holiday it’s an excellent place to do so.


5 stars Sept 2019:
A great stay
We stayed at Craig Y Nos, for a Welsh Terrier event. My husband and I were inthe Theatre Flat, it was excellent, clean, well equipped with a lovely view. The grounds and the castle itself were spectacular. We found the staff friendly , smiley and helpful. The bedrooms were basic but comfortable, the shower was lovely, but it would be nice to have some little shelf to put your shampoo etc on while you showered, and there was no clothes storage in the flat itself, but these were minor issues. We were made to feel welcome - dogs and humans, with an excellent breakfast and evening meal. Comfortable places to sit inside the hotel, and glorious places outside in the beautifully kept grounds. Thank you to all the staff for making us all so welcome


4 stars Oct 2019:
Perfect for a stay with friends
We stayed at the Castle for 3 nights during the Welshe Terrier meeting in September. From the moment we arrived we found the staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean and the food was tasty and well presented. The hotel is truely dog friendly which enabled everyone to relax and enjoy our event, with glorious weather and the country park next door helping to make it a fantastic stay. We hope to return again soon.


4 stars Aug 2019:
Excellent staff and service, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful setting an opportunity to see nature at its best in
This was our second visit to Craig Y Nos. What a beautiful and stunning place to stay. Lots of history and interesting things to find out about. Our flat was spotless clean. Wifi did not reach the area, but we were told about that and our teenagers went up to the seating area to get a good connection. We had 3 nights with breakfast. I cannot stress enough how excellent the breakfast and service was here. So much choice and food was added when running low. Yogurts were beautiful. Staff were so polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Some areas of the castle need sprucing up a little, but since our last visit lots of excellent work has been done. That said all areas were kept clean and tidy, the cleaner in our block was so friendly and polite throughout our stay. Reception staff were also so helpful e.g. Tips and directions of where to visit. Lots of young staff who are just starting off in the working world, but they had perfect manners and nothing was too much trouble. Martin you have an excellent staff team.
We will return to this lovely house and location and I can completely recommend visiting here.


4 stars Aug 2019:
Lovely surroundings and interesting place
There isn't anything really like Craig y nos Castle and I can see why it makes a magical and romantic wedding venue. Set in dramatic scenery, this quirky and beautiful house is something you need to see. Don't miss the country park bit of it either.


4 stars Sept 2019:
Delightful
We had a 3 night stay with our two quite large dogs. We were all made very welcome. Our room was large enough for all for of us (king size bed for us). The dogs were able to stretch out in comfort. The food was good and the hotel itself was amazing. The history is incredible. A lovely place to have a wedding. The staff were very friendly and helptful. Nothing was too much trouble. The surrounding countryside is beautiful. Great place for both us and our dogs. Would go back again.


3 stars July 2019:
Journey to the past
This is a very traditional hotel in a lovely location. The building is a vanity "castle" from the Victorian era. All it seems to lack is antlers hanging on the wall. The restaurant is very much a journey to the 1970s (albeit updated with many more vegetarian options than one might have been offered then). Many of their guests seemed to appreciate the familiarity of that. In the compact room, you will feel that familiar dread as your head comes to rest on the firm artificial foam stuffing. The staff are lovely, and try their best. It is very dog friendly.

Response from MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle Responded 25 Jul 2019 Thank you for your comments.Some would describe the Castle as a "folly" or indeed a large gothic mansion, where we try to bring History and Romance from the era of Adelina Patti - i am not sure though that comparison to the 1970s is far - as they were far to bland.  Our customers many of whom return time and time again, love our staff interaction, the food and the ability to relax in comfort, without a care in the world - many of whom bring their dogs. I am unsure if you are referring to "the compact room" as the toilet or "your bedroom" however am at a loss either way what the firm artificial foam stuffing is? I do hope though you found the Castle to be well situated for walks and exploring the area, and that you enjoyed your food too - best wishes M!chael


5 stars July 2019:
Lovely Food In A Beautiful Building
The castle itself is beautiful and set in a lovely corner of the Welsh countryside. We had Sunday lunch here. The staff were very friendly and efficient, and the food was delicious and good value. There's also a lovely country park adjoining which is free to visit and makes a great place for an after dinner stroll.


5 stars July 2019:
Lovely
Very pretty historical castle with hotel and restaurants. Specialises in weddings. Dog friendly. Surrounded by the beacons and great walks short or afar, the grounds are well kept. WiFi and restaurant food very good.


5 stars June 2019:
Amazing location, Great food and welcoming Staff.
Awesome two day stay at this amazing site with my dog. Lovely welcoming staff who were great when my dog knocked over a vase of flowers. They really went the extra mile incredibly helpful. Room was No 14 in the courtyard which was perfect as we could come and go without disturbing anyone. Bed very comfortable, shower amazing. Has T.V, kettle, tea and coffee plus hair dryer. I had internet too although it said that it is only available in bar, theatre or conservatory.Poor phone signal but ok if you walk a few minutes to country park. Dinner was amazing.


5 stars June 2019:
Amazing Historical Destination
Fantastic break in the Brecon Beacons, cant rate this place any higher. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us. Our dog was treated like a princess and the Historical tour is something all guests should do.Cant wait to go back next year.


5 stars June 2019:
Fabius stay
We stayed at Craig-y-Nos for three nights in June with our two lurchers (who were made very welcome). The hotel is very comfortable and in a fabulous position. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast was very good indeed and we really enjoyed the two evening meals we had at the hotel. We are both vegetarians and it was particularly good to see a larger than usual selection of interesting vegetarian dishes on the menu. We will definitely be back.


5 stars May 2019:
Beautiful Setting and Stay
This is a wonderful place to stay. This is an old building rich in history. The breakfast was incredible and offered lots of choice. The staff are helpful and will even show you around the grounds without much prompting.


5 stars May 2019:
What a Stunning Find!
Magnificent Castle in Brecon Beacons overlooking a gorgeous valley & stream. Beautiful romantic spot for weddings (one was taking place the day we left in the beautiful conservatory), walks & relaxation in one of the many sitting rooms. Our large 2 storey room was in the annexed area, quite modern, comfortable double bed (2 singles upstairs), lovely large bath towels & big shower which Lyn upgraded us to fit in the cot for our son to give us more room. It is a dog-friendly castle which they clearly let you know in advance but these guests with their animals don’t eat in the restaurant. Catherine our waitress is wonderful & a hard worker. She’s extremely welcoming, friendly & has wonderful knowledge of the area & had some lovely drink suggestions. She’s an asset to the castle. We felt very privileged to have the local choir practising for their concert in the theatre near the restaurant during our lovely dinner. I enjoyed the garlic pasta with king prawns, hubby’s chicken supreme was good & the Welsh carrots as a side dish were lovely & sweet. Great they had some kids choices as well for our son. Desserts were also lovely. Great Breakfast was a self-serve hot buffet with lovely choices & eggs made to order. Along with the female opera singer earlier in the evening these made for wonderful entertainment. Castle has some lovely history of an opera singer, hence the theatre & there is a hut on the property providing this info. Would have loved to stay longer to hear the guided tour & learn about the ghosts as apparently the castle is haunted.


4 stars may 2019:
Castle retreat
This little trip was a gift and it was fabulous. This lovely castle in the Brecon Beacons national park is definitely worth a visit. This castle caters for all guests wether single, couples or large families, there is accommodation to suit everyone. We arrived to a very pleasant welcome from reception. They showed us to our room which had just been refurbished and it was beautiful. There were 2 double bedrooms, beds were really comfy, tv in the room and tea, coffee making facilities and a 2seater sofa. There were wardrobes and space to put your luggage. The bathroom was quite big with a large shower and plenty of space to put your toiletries. We ventured out for walks around the grounds of the castle which is in the Brecon Beacons national park. We walked for several miles after only just arriving, then headed back for a well earned drink in the bar area. The restaurant was lots of tables in a large hall which we felt lacked the romantic feel of a restaurant. I guess this is ideal for weddings or functions with a dance floor too. The chef Steve came and spoke to us which was a nice touch. A nice guy with the amazing talent being a chef. Steve’s food was fabulous and wi5 clear plates at the end the evening that said it all. The one downside we felt spoilt the stay was the dogs. We appreciated this was a dog friendly hotel but during one of our evening meals all we had was dogs constantly barking in the restaurant. Not the romantic evening meal we had hoped for. Breakfast was in the same room and it was a help yourself buffet of hot and cold food. Breakfast was great and it certainly set us up for the day. This place is definitely worth a visit and is definitely the ideal venue for weddings and other large functions, so make sure you book well in advance.


5 stars May 2019:
Beautiful setting, helpful staff!
We stayed in the Farmhouse for 1 week. We found everyone incredibly helpful and accommodating- we had rescheduled the stay several times due to work commitments. The package included 4 breakfasts which were lovely, and a meal- we had the Sunday lunch 3 course menu- delicious! They also accommodated our dietary requirements including vegan and gluten free. In fact, Catherine who works front of house went and bought vegan/ gluten-free sausages especially for our group. She really went the extra mile and we were really impressed with everything as a whole. Thank you all, looking forward to visiting again soon 😊


5 stars May 2019:
Fantastic 4 night visit!
Me and my Fiancee with our dog recently stayed at the castle for 4 nights as part of the late deals (2 nights stay, incl. 3 course meal each night and breakfast for £250). We have visited/stayed at Craig Y Nos castle several times in recent years as it has become one of our favorite places, so much so we are getting married there in October. With each stay we love the place even more. Firstly it is a fantastic property and location, especially if you like going for walks/dog walking. The castle is beautiful and has the Brecon National park as its back garden.

The staff cannot be faulted and are a real asset to the Castle. Every member of staff we've met during our many stays have been the most friendly and accommodating we've ever met. The food is fantastic and they offered us a very diverse menu so we never get bored. On our last night of our most recent stay they were hosting a small wedding and would not normally have booked us in for food in the evening, however the head chef made a special effort for us and made us whatever we wanted off the menu to help us out which we very much appreciated!

We also love how our dog gets treated like royalty whenever we take her to Craig Y Nos, unlike other places we've been that claim to be dog friendly but make you feel like your imposing. The ladies behind the front desk also deserve a special mention as they really try to accommodate you and make you feel welcome. We really cannot recommend Craig Y Nos enough!


4 stars April 2019:
Fantastic place to stay, can’t wait to go vacky
Left the castle today after a 3 night stay and wish we could of stayed longer. The castle is stunning, accommodation clean, comfortable and spacious- food delicious; breakfast kept us going all day and evening meals were excellent. Our 2 dogs were made very welcome and given sausages at breakfast and fussed by everyone. The grounds offer stunning walks as does the surrounding area- just perfect for dog owners and walkers. The icing on the cake is the exceptional staff who went out if their way to make sure we had all we needed and wanted. Katherine is a gem and works tirelessly at the castle and has so much interesting history to tell about the property- thank you. We will go back (first place i have ever gone back to as there are so many new places to discover), the Craig y Nos castle is a gem and very special. Thank you for making our stay such a pleasure, can’t wait to return and chill again. Rachael and Pete Whithear with Charlie and Indie


5 stars April 2019:
Top place & pet friendly
We stayed one night here on 4/10/18. Lovely room pet friendly & even aloud our dog in the restaurant ( even had a free sausage) The place is haunted tho & although we didn’t see anything our dog was very uneasy during the night.
We did experience a strange thing in the grounds of the castle tho we’re a gate opened on its own very weird !! All in all great place to stay & bit spooky aswell Would recomend


5 stars March 2019:
Hen do ghost tour.
We had a hen party of ten from Cornwall, we had booked the all night ghost hunt at Craig Y Nos castle. From the very start of booking over email it was very easy and any possible question was answered without hesitation from a lovely Melanie, Nothing was too much trouble and she always replied to any email with 10 minutes of me sending one. As soon as we drove into the car park we were faced with one of the most beautiful castles. Check in was easy and quick with very pleasant staff. We were shown to our rooms and yes like some other reviews state the stair cases and halls are rather narrow but it is a old castle and the fact that the original layout is kept the same is what makes it what it is so that was no disappointment to us. Our rooms were absolutely fine, decor is old but again if it was modern it wouldn't suit the building so we didn't expect anything other than the way it presented itself and it was clean and tidy.
Everyone was happy with the rooms.

The food was absolutely gorgeous and everyone enjoyed their meals by the fire place which staff made a conscious effort to jeep well lit at all times during our meal. The staff were absolutely fantastic, everyone had a big smile on their face and they all made an effort to say hello and ask us how we were, even the ground keepers made a point of saying hello. Breakfast was superb and all meal portion sizes are huge. The staff truely were fantastic throughout our stay and they really make the place what it is! The ghost hunt itself was brilliant fun and staff asked us about our evening as we arrived for breakfast and whilst checking out, they make you feel so welcome and like family. All in all I would 100% recommend Craig Y Nos castle, we had a fantastic time in a wonderful place with brilliant staff. What more can you ask for.


5 stars April 2019:
Birthday Treat
We have just spent 2 nights, dinner, bed and breakfast at this fantastic dog friendly hotel. We arrived to a warm welcome from Reception and were shown to our room which was warm, cosy and very clean. Our dog was more than welcomed in the Restaurant and Bar and at Breakfast received his own breakfast sausage. There were lots of dogs in the Hotel and they all behaved impeccably. The Hotel grounds and attached National Park are perfect for walking and exercising the dogs and ours definitely thought he was King of his Castle. The food was perfectly cooked and plentiful, good choice too. We will be returning to stay, hopefully for one of the themed events, as soon as we get the chance


4 stars April 2019:
again- the locstion! The breakfast! The staff!
We came here again recently for a short break- as you do. The welcome was fantastic- the staff the best thing about this place. The room was superb- perfect for the dog- which is actually really important for us- an unhappy German shepherd is not to be trifled with! Only drawbacks- the bed was very low, and the mattress not the best- oh and refreshing though cold water can be, not really what was most desirable in the late winter- BUT as we all love the place, these are mere trifles! The care given to us outweighs any minor discomforts- yes TRULY. Again- most thanks to the fabulous staff- both inside and out- who can't do enough for you. One tip- this place can be HEAVING with weddings- hardly surprising considering the extraordinary venue- so phone- staff will ALWAYS try to sort out something to suit you.


4 stars Feb 2019:
Night In A Castle
Came to Craig Y Nos for one night as a birthday gift. Easy check in and the receptionist showed us to our room. The route to the room was up narrow stairs and through a number of corridors, so if mobility is an issue raise it before booking. The room was large with some nice pieces of pine furniture, the bathroom was also large with a "queen Ann bath", no walk in shower. The room was clean and comfortable, with full T&C facilities. It was quiet in the hotel during our visit and the only other people were people with dogs, which are allowed to come with the owners in to the eating areas. The breakfast was very good and cooked freshly for you, the lady that served breakfast was friendly and kept you topped up with T & C. The hotel appears to be popular with dog owners and there were dogs of all sizes when we were staying. Overall, a great stay with a comfortable sleep followed by an excellent breakfast.


5 stars March 2019:
Ghost Tour for husbands birthday
I booked the ghost tour as a little something different for my husbands birthday and I can hand on heart say that we had the most amazing time and would stay again within a heart beat. The Castle is impressive upon arrival. Check in was efficient and the receptionist showed us to our room. Room was small but plenty of room for the two of us. Furniture was what you would expect is such an old establishment and added to the ambience, bath room equally so and all in good working order. We settled in and headed to the bar for a couple of drinks pre dinner. This is where we met Catherine (not sure of her job title but she seemed to do a lot of everything) Catherine is a credit as were all other staff we met during our visit to Craig y Nos. Catherine went out of her way to add the little touches that certainly made our experience what it was. All staff stopped for a little chat about the history of the place.

Dinner was amazing, I had the Salmon and my husband had the steak. My Salmon and accompliments were really good, but I soon regretted my choice once I had a morsel of my husbands steak, it was divine cooked exactly as asked. The Ghost Tour! Amazing! We were only a small group of 4 and Paul was our guide. We went with an open mind my husband being the least convinced of the existence of ghostly spirits. We were not disappointed. Everyone in the group had one experience or another in different places of the castle and all left with absolute conviction that the castle is indeed haunted. Paul was fabulous and very knowledgeable. We didn't do the oiuja at the end through choice. Stanley one of the resident ghost took great pleasure in scaring the bejesus out of us. I would highly recommend this place and as previously stated would stay again in a heart beat and look forward to doing so soon.


5 stars Jan 2019:
Excellent place to stay
We stayed here for the weekend it wasn’t our first break away in 12 years the castle and staff were very welcoming our room was warm and inviting with crisp white bedding and overall lovely and clean the food was of an excellent portion the staff couldn’t do enough for us


5 stars Jan 2019: Wonderful
Stayed for a short break with friends and their Labrador puppy with myself and my aged Labrador! Lovely warm rooms, lovely bathroom with courtyard and dog convenience area close by. Stunning walks around the castle and country park. THE STAFF WERE EXCELLENT AND SO VERY FRIENDLY!! They went out of their way to ensure we were having a lovely time and at breakfast on the day of my friends 50th birthday they presented her with a card, chocolates and a bottle of prosecco! Did the tour of the castle with a lovely lady called KATH, who was Superb and so passionate and knowledgeable about the history of this beautiful venue! Highly recomended


5 stars Feb 2019:
What an amazing weekend!
I stayed here for my good friends wedding. Check in was a breeze and I was even personally shown my room from the reception staff. The room was clean and spacious. The shower was absolutely amazing. It was one of those walk in showers. I loved how I had a door in the room to the gardens. We had food from the bar menu on the first night which was gorgeous. The day of the wedding was amazing and went off without a hitch. The food was to die for at the wedding dinner. I have to say every single member of staff was so friendly especially the manager Donna. Donna is an absolute credit to the castle. I loved bumping into her around the castle and stopping for a chat. I'll definitely be booking again for a summer weekend away.


5 stars Jan 2019:
Christmas? Delightful! So many to thank...
The staff at this hotel are the BEST! Not only did they manage to find us a fab room which catered for us AND our dog- ie an upstairs bedroom, AND direct access to the gardens/national park, but they allowed us to customise our visit, so that we spent our Christmas day on the beach at Oxwich Bay, (we don't eat lunch!) but allowed us to have the evening buffet as part of a different deal. As usual, WONDERFUL breakfasts, and our Boxing Day evening meal was lovely. (Just one SMALL thing- a variety of vegetables with the hot meal would have been even better, but I am a veg fanatic...not vegetarian I hasten to add).But to reiterate- its the STAFF that make this such a special place. Our first Christmas away from home, and it was lovely.


5 stars Jan 2019:
Beautiful castle in a beautiful setting
Stayed for two nights in early January for a Friday wedding. Our room was quirky and very warm. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The wedding ceremony was in the fantastic theatre, what a beautiful setting. Wedding breakfast in the orangery, again a wonderful room. Drinks at the bar were very reasonably priced, makes a nice change for a wedding venue. Lovely walks in the area straight from the hotel.


5 stars Jan 2019:
Wonderful break love this place
What an amazing weekend cannot praise this hotel enough. With a fabulously spacious room, wonderful food, including the best steak I have ever had, amazing views and the loveliest staff it really was perfect. To top it off this morning we were able to check out late so we could participate in a histiric tour of the building, totally facinating to see Adelina Patti's beautiful theatre now a stunning venue for wedding ceremonies and the stunning conservatory makes me want to get married again. Then we got to see the old hospital floors where the ghost hunters investigate, including most haunted, very spooky. During the tour we find out our room is one of three reputedly haunted by animals, one of whom plays with a ball, this explains my dogs jumping on me at 1:30am Saturday morning, very agitated and excited. Hence a 12 mile walk later that day to ensure they slept Saturday night 😂😂😂 If you like good food, amazing scenery, and walks, historic buildings or ghost hunting this is perfect we both highly recommend 😍❤️💕


5 stars Jan 2019:
Stunning!
I am currently staying in this beautiful gothic mansion / castle and it is so beautiful! I have visited before for food and it is one of my faverout places! Set in stunning scenery , with a rich and interesting history the castle is run by friendly helpful staff who will make your stay welcoming and comphortable. There really is nothing negative to be said! Craig - Y - Nos has character and charm, the rooms are older fasiond but in a lovely way they would not be in keeping with the character any other way! Every space and room is very clean and tidy ( being a tad OCD on such things I was very impressed!) The food is apsolutly lovely, Honest food well presented eaten in beautiful surroundings! Obviously the castle is dog friendly with lovely picturesque walks all around, lots of people had dogs! There is plenty to do in the locality from walks and waterfalls to caving and horse riding so something for everyone! I would highly recommend guests participate in the history tour which gives you access to areas of the castle you would otherwise be unable to see. The lady who runs the tour is very nice with a good knowlage of the castle history you'll be enthralled by the story's I can assure you! All In all a gorgeous friendly castle that I will keep returning to! Thank you so much for a lovely stay can't wait to see you again!


5 stars Jan 2019:
Fantastic location enjoyed by the whole family set in a picturesque valley
This is a wonderful place to spend time with your entire family and pets. The surrounding views are nothing but spectacular, along with the history and location of the Castle itself. Highly recommended is the History Tour by Catherine who's knowledge and passion for the Castle shone through. We will definitely be booking again.
Copyright Dog Friendly Wales and Jack the Dog
Back to content